The Three Days Quote Challenge


After a very long absence, I am wishing this series will bring back on track. My loyal friend and blogger Shruti has always been there pushing me to go back to writing. So, thank you Shruti. You’re amazing.

These are the rules of this challenge:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you. (Done)
  2. Post a quote each day for three days.
  3. Nominate 3 other bloggers to take the challenge. (I’ll do this later, what, are you the wordpress police?)

Honestly, I am not great at remembering quotes for a long period of time. I fall in love wit a quote one day and betray it with another the next day. Here comes a quote from a writer that became very dear to my heart after reading some of his books this summer. The great, wonderful, charismatic and possibly the coolest philosopher of all time: Albert Camus.

“Notre tâche d’homme est de trouver les quelques formules qui apaiseront l’angoisse infinie des âmes libres. Nous avons à recoudre ce qui est déchiré, à rendre la justice imaginable dans un monde si évidemment injuste, le bonheur significatif pour des peuples empoisonnés par le malheur du siècle. Naturellement, c’est une tâche surhumaine. Mais on appelle surhumaines les tâches que les hommes mettent longtemps à accomplir, voilà tout. ” – Albert Camus ( L’été )

It’s a shame if you do not understand French. Camus has a talent of practically knitting words together so beautifully. I am going to attempt a translation, hoping that I don’t butcher the meaning.

“Our task as humans is to find the elusive formulas that will soothe the infinite anguish of free spirits. We have to stitch what has been torn apart, bring justice to a world that is so evidently unjust and significant happiness to the people that have been poisoned by the melancholy of our era. Naturally, that is a superhuman task. But, we tend to call superhuman, the task humans take a long time to accomplish, that’s all.”

If anyone has an alternative suggestion, feel free to correct me.

I hope that sounded as beautiful to you as it did to me. I think this quote actually gives meaning to our short lives on earth: to make this planet a happier place.

We spend our days complaining about the state of our world, yet we do nothing to change it. We have a tendency to think doctors and similar prestigious jobs are the only way to help people and better our world. But, that’s not the case. We literally have thousands and thousands of problems in every aspect of our life: social, economical, political, physical, psychological, environmental… And, we all have a duty to make at least one lasting change during our lifetime otherwise our lives would be just a waste of time. I’m not asking you to cure every disease, end every war, nourish every child, stitch the ozone layer. Sure, if you want to attempt such a task, go ahead. But, for everyone else, you don’t have to make all these grand projects. Change can be simple and you can do it. After all, that’s what you’re created and destined to do. Help someone going through psychological or financial difficulties, if you’re not the one who is going to find the cure to AIDS, maybe he will and he just needs your support to bring him back on track. If you’re an amazing thinker like Camus, teach us, the world no longer has common sense, we need your help. Heck, go and volunteer in some third world country, help eradicate illiteracy. Don’t be greedy, cook a warm dinner for your poor neighbor, bring his kids your used school books. And, don’t be an a****** and throw litter on the streets. Or, just take care of your kids, educate them morally so that one day, they might change the world.

camus

2 thoughts on “The Three Days Quote Challenge

  1. Hiya,
    I can’t agree any better. I wanted to join the administrative service in India so that i could help those in need, I mean do my bit, But when life didn’t exactly go that way and put me where I am today. I still believe I can do my bit by doing those little things which will actually bring a smile on somebody else’s face. Not great things but things I can do. Hopefully, it will get bigger as I become stabler. 🙂
    Tc,
    Shruti

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

