Thought for Food


I rarely have lunch outside. When I say rarely, I mean I can spend years without stepping inside a restaurant. And, so after 2 years of eating at home, you’d expect me to jump joyfully when I was invited. But, no I was practically dragged to go.

I don’t really enjoy eating outside. Thanks to the internet, I have nightmares about the germs in public places. Even though, this was a fancy restaurant, it was also busy. The workers are mere humans, they will make mistakes. That’s why I was reluctant to use the cutlery and the cups. I didn’t even touch the door handle. There was no way I was going to touch it after 100000 greasy dirty hands used it. I sort of jumped inside when the guy in front of me opened it.

The food is a big issue as well. For the past year or so, I’ve been considering vegan-ism. I have come across many documentaries exposing the horrifying treatment of animals. And, honestly, despite all my efforts, it made feel bad about my eating habits. I struggled to admit that vegans are right because I falsely assumed it contradicted my faith. There was another issue as well: there are no vegan products around here. So, for now, I am still eating meat and dairy. However, I always make sure the animals were treated as humanely as possible. In a restaurant, however, the humane way costs a lot of money. I just hope that the owner wasn’t too greedy and that the food won’t make me sick.

Another thing I hate about restaurants is that the food is either too much or not enough. In my case, it was the first. Seriously, the salad alone would’ve been enough. Since I didn’t know the salad was designed to fill a horse, I naturally ordered a main dish. Instantly, an internal conflict arose: Either, I leave the food to be thrown in the garbage or I force it down my throat. I opted for the latter. To remind you, I hate this food since it’s cruelty-full. But, I ate it. 😦

There is one good thing about restaurants. I met the french actress Julie Delpy and the american pop-star Taylor Swift. It was amazing. They sat with me and we had fun. They were super nice. Julie re-enacted some scenes from her movies. You see, I have a habit of meeting celebrities, so I brought a guitar just in case. So, Taylor played us some songs. Nah, I’m just kidding. But, the two women at the next table really looked like them.

Thought for Food Logo.jpg

                                                                     Source: The Colbert Report

One thought on “Thought for Food

Leave a Reply

